How to Block Someone On Instagram

Instagram is a social media platform that is known for sharing photos and videos, it is owned by Meta, the parent company of Facebook. Instagram is a great way to connect with friends and family and to share photos with the world. In this piece, I will show you how to block someone on Instagram.

instagram

It is very much possible that a particular Instagram user is disturbing you by sending unsolicited messages or annoying comments on your post. At this point, I’m sure you would have thought of how to block that person from doing that again.

How to Block Someone On Instagram

Blocking someone on Instagram will prevent that person from interacting with your account and it will give you peace of mind. Below is a comprehensive guide showing you how to block someone on Instagram.

Block-Someone-On-Instagram

Block on Instagram via Direct Messages

If the person sent you an unsolicited message, then you can choose to block them right from the DM section. Follow the steps below to block someone on Instagram.

  • Open the Instagram app, and log in to your account.
  • Tap on the DM icon at the top right corner of the screen.
  • Tap the chat of the person that you want to block.
  • Tap the name of the account beside the profile picture icon.
  • Tap the Options (three-dot) icon, then tap Block.
  • Tap the Block button. Tap Dismiss on the notification telling you that you have blocked the account.

Now, you have successfully blocked that person on your Instagram account.

Block Someone On Instagram via Account Profile

Block-Account-On-Instagram

If you want to block an account that has not messaged you, you can do that via the profile page of that account.

  • Open the Instagram app.
  • Go to the profile of the account that you want to block.
  • Tap the three-dot icon at the top right corner of the screen.
  • Tap Block on the option that shows up.
  • Tap the Block button on the confirmation box that shows up, explaining what happens when you block the account.
  • Tap Dismiss on the notification saying the account is blocked.

Block Someone On Instagram via Blocked List

  • Open the Instagram app.
  • Go to your Profile, and tap the three flat-lines icon at the top right corner.
  • Tap Settings and privacy from the options that come up.
  • Scroll down and tap Block in the Who can see your content section.
  • Tap the Plus (+) icon at the top right.
  • Now, input the username of who you want to block in the search bar. Tap Block beside the account that you want to block.

What Happens When You Block Someone On Instagram

  • When you block someone on Instagram, they will not be able to tag you in posts or mention your username.
  • If the blocked user has likes and comments on your posts, they will be removed. However, they will see your likes and comments on public accounts’ posts.
  • When you block someone, you will no longer receive messages from them, and they will not be able to call you.
  • If you’re group with the blocked user, you would have the option to leave but if you stay, you would see their messages in the group.
  • They won’t be able to join any room that you create.
  • Instagram has an option to also automatically block new accounts that the blocked user creates again just to contact you. This is to stop harassment and obsessive stalking.
  • Also, the accounts that you block are not notified that you have blocked them but they can find out through other ways.

How to View Your Instagram Blocked List

To view the list of users that you have blocked on Instagram, follow the steps below.

  • Open the Instagram app.
  • Tap your Profile at the bottom right corner.
  • On your Profile, tap the three flat lines icon at the top right corner.
  • Tap Settings and privacy from the options that come up.
  • Scroll down and tap Blocked in the Who can see your content section.
  • Now, you will see your blocked list.

How to Unblock Someone On Instagram

If you want to unblock someone on Instagram then follow the steps below.

  • Open your Instagram app.
  • Go to your Blocked List.
  • Now, tap the Unblock button in front of the account that you want to unblock.

Or, you can try this;

  • Go to the profile of the account that you have blocked.
  • Tap the Unblock button, it is the place where the follow or unfollow button is.

Now, we’ve come to the end of this article showing you how to block someone on Instagram, and also how to unblock them. Check out our article on how to block someone on Facebook.

Dont sleep on this

You can buy your dream smartphone on an instalment plan. Call or message Courage on 0817 160 1491, and mention Mobility Nigeria.

Leave a comment

Home | About Us | Contact Us | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2008 – 2023 Mobility Nigeria. All rights reserved.