How many train stations are there in Nigeria? Which rail lines are active in 2022? The Nigeria Railway Corporation has a monopoly over rail services in the country, providing both intra-city and inter-city passenger and freight services. In Lagos State, the Lagos Metropolitan Area Transport Authority (LAMATA) is also constructing a rail mass transit system in the state.

List Of Train Stations In Nigeria

Mobolaji Johnson Station (MJS) in Yaba is one of the active train stations in Nigeria in 2022
Mobolaji Johnson Station (MJS), Yaba, Lagos. Photo By: Frankv Eck

Train Stations in Abuja FCT

  • Stadium Metro Rail Station, Kubwa Central Business District, Abuja FCT
  • Nnamdi Azikiwe Airport Rail Station, Abuja FCT
  • Idu Rail Station, Abuja FCT

Train Stations in Kaduna State

  • Jere, Kaduna State
  • Asham, Kaduna State
  • Rijana, Kaduna State
  • Rigasa, Kaduna State

Train Stations in Lagos State

  • Iddo, Apapa, Lagos State
  • Ebute-meta, Lagos State
  • Mobolaji Johnson Station (MJS), Muritala Muhammad Way, Ebute-Metta Lagos State
  • Babatunde Fashola, Agege, Lagos State

Train Stations in Oyo State

  • Ibadan, oyo State

Train Stations in Ogun State

  • Abeokuta rail station, Abeokuta, Ogun State
  • Woke Soyinka rail station , Abeokuta, Ogun State.
  • Ijoko, Ogun State

Train Stations in Delta State

  • Ujevwu, Warri, Delta State
  • Itakpe, Delta State

List Of All Active Train Routes In Nigeria

  • Lagos-Ibadan
  • Lagos-Abeokuta
  • Abeokuta-Ibadan
  • Abuja-Kaduna (under suspension for security reasons)
  • Warri-Itakpe. The Warri-Itakpe rail line went operational in 2020.
  • Iddo-Ijoko

Abuja Metro consists of two routes – Central Business District to Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport, and

Train Stations Under Construction In Nigeria

  • Osoosun, Kajola, Ogun State
  • Oyingbo Rail Station, Lagos State

The Lagos Metropolitan Area Transport Authority (LAMATA) has two rail lines under construction, with the following stations in the works:

  • Marina Rail Station, Lagos
  • Okokomaiko, Lagos State
  • Iju, Lagos
  • Ikeja, Lagos
  • Oshodi, Lagos
  • Mushin, Lagos

The Lagos Blue Line will run for 27 kilometres from Okokomaiko to Marina, while the Red Line will run for 37 kilometres from Agbado station in Ogun State through Oyingbo in Lagos, to terminate at Marina in Lagos..Other rail lines in the plan in Lagos include the Brown Line (from Mile 12 to Marina), Orange Line (from Redemption Camp in Ogun State to Marina), Purple line (from Redemption Camp to Ojo), the Green Line (from Marina to Epe), and the Yellow Line (Iddo to Otta in Ogun State).

In Abuja, nine other stations are part of the masterplan for the city’s Abuja Rail Mass Transit (also called Abuja Light Rail) and will all be constructed eventually and join the existing three.

The Nigeria Railway Corporation’s Lagos-Calabar Rail line (AKA West-East Coastal Rail Line) is under construction and will run from Lagos through Sagamu, Ijebu-Ode, Ore, Benin City, Sapele, Warri, Yenagoa Port Harcourt, Aba, Uyo, Calabar, Akamkpa, Ikom, to Obudu Ranch in Cross River State. The rail line includes a branch line from Benin City through Asaba, Onitsha Bridge, Port Harcourt, and finally to Onne Deep Seaport in Rivers State.

The Itakpe-Lokoja-Abuja line is also under construction and, connecting the existing Itakpe-Warri line, will terminate at the southern end at Warri.

Get Notified of New Content on Mobility Nigeria

Don’t snooze on fresh, new posts. One email per day only! We do not share your contact with anyone.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Avatar of InfoDesk

By InfoDesk

We share free and useful content about mobile phones, technology, and services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *